What are the 7 types of characters?

7 Types of Characters

Characters are the lifeblood of any story. Without them, a narrative would be nothing more than a series of events with no emotional connection. Understanding the different types of characters can help writers create more dynamic and interesting stories. Here are the seven types of characters:


The protagonist is the main character of the story, the one the audience is meant to identify with. They are the hero, the one who drives the plot forward and whose decisions shape the outcome of the story.


The antagonist is the character who stands in opposition to the protagonist. They are the villain, the one who is trying to prevent the protagonist from achieving their goals.

Love Interest

The love interest is the character who is romantically involved with the protagonist. They often provide emotional support and guidance, and their relationship with the protagonist is often a major plot point.


The confidant is the character who is the protagonist’s closest friend or ally. They provide emotional support and advice, and often act as a sounding board for the protagonist’s ideas and plans.


Deuteragonists are secondary characters who play an important role in the story. They often provide support to the protagonist, and their actions can have a significant impact on the plot.

Tertiary Characters

Tertiary characters are minor characters who have a limited role in the story. They often provide comic relief or provide a contrast to the protagonist’s personality.


A foil is a character who is used to highlight the qualities of the protagonist. They often have similar qualities to the protagonist, but are portrayed in a different light. This allows the audience to gain a better understanding of the protagonist’s motivations and actions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *